Wink...Wink! Daily Assignments Title Graphic
E-Mail Me

9th Grade

AR List
AR Contract

Research Links

English Links

Check Grades

Fairfield Home

Davis School District

August 23-27, 2004

Monday, August 23: Teacher Prep. Day

  • No School for Students

Tuesday, August 24: Teacher Prep. Day

  • No School for Students

Wednesday, August 25: Welcome Back!

Thursday, August 26

Friday, August 27


August 30 - September 3, 2004

Monday, August 30

Tuesday, August 31

  • The (original) Olympians: PowerPoint Presentation/Notes
    (Click the above link only if you have PowerPoint on your computer.)
  • Informational Text: Why Mythology?
  • Begin Mythology Research: Hamilton's Mythology

Wednesday, September 1: Computer Lab

Thursday, September 2

Friday, September 3


September 6-10, 2004

Monday, September 6

  • Labor Day: No School

Tuesday, September 7

Wednesday, September 8

Thursday, September 9

  • Administrator's Visit: Safe Schools Seminar (Swanson Rocks!)
  • No Language Arts Class Today

Friday, September 10

  • Finish Presentations
  • Check Biographies: Have book in class today!
  • The Iliad: Prologue to The Odyssey
  • The Trojan War: PowerPoint Presentation/Notes
    (Click the link only if you have PowerPoint on your computer.)
  • Word Cells List #2: Test Next Thursday!

September 13-17, 2004

Monday, September 13

  • Finish Trojan War Presentation
  • Hand Out Journals
  • Journal #1: What is a hero? (75 words)
  • Introduction to The Odyssey: Pages 640-646 in Text

Tuesday, September 14

  • STAR Reading Levels
  • Journal #2: Discuss your general attitude toward reading. (80 words)
  • Begin Reading The Odyssey: Sailing from Troy, Calypso

Wednesday, September 15

  • Journal #3: Epithets (p. 715 in text):
    Create epithets for yourself and ten other people.
  • The Odyssey: The Lotus Eaters, The Cyclops, Circe
  • Epic Poetry Terms: Epic Simile, Epic Hero

Thursday, September 16

  • Word Cells List #2 Test
  • The Odyssey: The Land of the Dead, The Sirens, Scylla and Charibdis, The Cattle of the Sun God

Friday, September 17

  • The Odyssey: Coming Home, The Meeting of Father and Son, The Beggar and the Faithful Dog, The Test of the Great Bow
  • Word Cells List #3: Test Next Thursday!

September 20-24, 2004

Monday, September 20

  • Journal #4: DOL Activity
  • Finish The Odyssey: Death at the Palace, Odysseus and Penelope
  • Comprehension Quiz

Tuesday, September 21

  • Journal #5: "Ithaca" and Response Questions
  • Odyssey: Finish Quiz/Review
  • Paragraph: Besides Odysseus, who is the most heroic character in the second half of The Odyssey? Why?
  • Study Your Myth Grid! Test Tomorrow!

Wednesday, September 22

Thursday, September 23

Friday, September 24

  • Journal #6: What is the best day of the week? Why? (80 words)
  • Collect revised paragraphs
  • Structuring an Essay (that will be due in two weeks)
  • The Where's Thompson? Speech

September 27 - October 1, 2004: Test Week

Monday, September 27: Where's Thompson?

  • The Odyssey: Movie & Study Guide

Tuesday, September 28: Testing Day

  • The Odyssey

Wednesday, September 29: Testing Day

  • The Odyssey

Thursday, September 30

  • The Odyssey

Friday, October 1

  • The Odyssey: Study Guide due (if movie is finished)

October 4-8, 2004

Monday, October 4

Tuesday, October 5

  • Journal #7: The Ideal Vacation
  • Midterm Grades: Return them tomorrow with a parent's signature!
  • Popsicle Sticks: How to Organize an Essay
  • Color code this essay in your Writing Packet.

Wednesday, October 6: Parent-Teacher Conferences

Thursday, October 7: Parent-Teacher Conferences

Friday, October 8: Biography Notes Due!


October 11-15, 2004

Monday, October 11

  • Journal #8: DOL
  • Finish Notes on Writing
  • "A Defense of the Jury System" (p. 310)

Tuesday, October 12

  • Journal #9: What sticks in your craw? (85 words)
  • Persuasive Essay Samples: "Privacy" & "Just a Phase"
    Analyze Topic, Audience, Purpose, and Persona of each

Wednesday, October 13

  • More on Persuasion
  • "Poison for Sale"
  • Artifacts to support such essays

Thursday, October 14

Friday, October 15: Group Picture Day


October 18-22, 2004: Ribbon Week

Monday, October 18: Biography Essays Due!

Tuesday, October 19

Wednesday, October 20

Thursday, October 21: AR Points due Today!

Friday, October 22

  • Word Cells Test #5
  • Persuasive Model: Page 323 in text
  • Grade Printout Sent Home: Return (signed) Monday!

October 25-29, 2004

Monday, October 25: A.M. Assembly

Tuesday, October 26

  • William Who?
  • Intro to Shakespeare: Video
  • Assignment: Write (and answer) ten questions about William Shakespeare.
  • Have a good break!

Wednesday, October 27: First Term Ends

  • Quality Teaching Day: No School for Students

Thursday, October 28

  • UEA: No School

Friday, October 29

  • UEA: No School

"Did I miss anything?" This is the most annoying question students who have been absent can ask. My usual sarcastic reply is something like this: "Oh, heck no! We knew you were gone, so we just sat around all day and looked at each other. You don't really think I'm going to assign work on a day you're not here, do you?" So, in order to keep everyone (students and their parents) apprised of what exactly is going on each day in class, I am going to put it here. Check back often!


We have made every reasonable attempt to insure that our web pages are educationally sound and do not contain links to any questionable material or anything that can be deemed in violation of the DSD Acceptable Use Policy. We have also made every effort to insure that our web pages are free of personality, character, or any other small uniqueness that students might enjoy.
This page is maintained according to the DSD Internet Publishing Guidelines by FFJH Webmasters.

2004 Michael Thompson - All rights reserved.
*<%^)